Pan-Braised Lamb Shoulder Chops

Lamb is one of my absolute favourite meats, so I am always on the lookout for new and yummy ways to prepare it.  This Pan-Braised Lamb Shoulder Chops recipe originaly came from 1997 edition of The Joy of Cooking gifted to me by my Step Mom back in 2004.  I have found The Joy of Cooking to be an invaluable reference for basics throughout the years.  The lamb chops I used for this recipe came from the local farm Chick a Biddy Acres.

I use the original recipe as a base, but every time I use it I use different ingredients and steps.  Although this means that every time I make this it is an experiment and will taste different I have not had it fail on my once, it tastes great every time!  In past, place of the wine I have substituted vodka, orange juice, and various other drinks.  It always tastes good, but what you substitute for the wine will drastically alter the resulting taste of your chops.  I found pineapple made the resulting taste sweet, but enjoyable.  Have fun experimenting with this. 

Ingredients:

Preparing reduction for lamb chops

Preparing reduction for lamb chops

  • 4-6 lamb shoulder chops
  • 1 tsp salt 
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp non dairy margarine
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp basil
  • 1 cup pineapple juice
  • 1 cup vegetable stock
  • 1 cup canned chopped tomatoes with liquid

Method:

  1. Season 6 lamb shoulder chops with salt and pepper
  2. Heat non dairy margarine and olive oil until turns a touch brown
  3. Saute chops 2 minutes each side
  4. Remove chops and excess fat from pan
  5. And onion and spice mixture to pan and fry on medium heat untill onion soft.
  6. Mix in pineapple juice
  7. Simmer until liquid is reduced by half
  8. Mix in vegetable stock and tomatoes
  9. Simmer until reduced by half
  10. Add lamb chops and reduce heat to low. Cover and simmer for 40 minutes turning chops once at 20 minutes.

    pan-braised lamb shoulder chops

    Pan-braised lamb shoulder chops

My husband and I enjoyed these lamb chops with mashed sweet potatoes spiced with cinnamon and ginger and plain fried spinach and mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

