Guacamole, without the tomato and garlic

Preparing to make guacamole

Preparing to make guacamole

I love guacamole, but raw tomato give me hives, so I have always had to add cooked tomatoes instead, which makes for a less than ideal guacamole experience. Luckily, the other day I  had a brainstorm… could there possibly be guacamole without the tomatoes?! After much Googling for Guacamole recipes I found that this concept did indeed exist and that it seemed many people happily made and ate tomato-less guacamole.

So after much searching I decided to adapt this recipe to my diet; A Twist on Guacamole Recipe from Heidi at 101 Cookbooks.  I will definitely have to try some more of her recipes!  To avoid the garlic that I can’t digest I replaced it with onion: 

  • 2-4 avocados (I used 3 today)
  • 1 lime (if you want it less citrus intense I suggest 1/2 lime as Heidi has done) 
  • 1/2 a small onion, diced
  • curry powder (I added until I liked the taste, I used approximately 1/8 – 1/4 tsp)
  • cummin powder (I added until I liked the taste, I used approximately 1/8 – 1/4 tsp)
  • salt (I used 1/2 tsp and think I could have gotten away with 1/4 tsp)

    Guacamole

    Guacamole ready to eat!

I mashed the above together with a fork untill I achieved the consistency I desired.  Less mashed would give you a yummy chunky guac, and more mashed…well, you get the picture!

I enjoyed this delicious guacamole with cornchips.

Leave a Reply

