The Seven Deadly Sins Art Show – Wrath

These are the paintings I created for an art show at The Spill back in spring 2011 with 7 other artists, called The Seven Deadly Sins.  If you, like me, have no idea what the seven deadly sins are check out this wikipedia entry, as I did, on the topic. Each of the artists drew a “sin” out a hat. I ended up with Lust, but traded with another artist for Wrath.  As I had just recently lost a baby in my 5th month of pregnancy I was feeling much more wrathful than lustful and paintings about wrath seemed very cathartic. I took pictures as I painted them so I could share my process with you.  These 4 paintings are all in acrylic on canvas, which I had not painted with for years. I selected the same basic colours for all the paintings and few recurring elements to tie the set together. I decided to use some strong primary colours and contrasting colours paired with simplified designs reminiscent of comic book art. Edvard Munch and Vincent van Gogh are also influences. Before they were displayed they were all given a coat of gloss varnish.

Leave a Reply

