Adventures with Gluten – Basic Challah

This is my first challah baked with wheat flour, wow, very different from my usual gluten-free challah!  I feel that the gluten-free challah is much faster and easier to make, but, although it tastes delicious, it is dryer and much more difficult to make the strands and braid them.

This wheat challah recipe is easy to follow even if, like me, you have no prior bread making experience.  It is however very time consuming, but the process is fun and the smell and taste is magnificent making it well worth the effort.  I suggest carefully adding up all the time in the recipe and then adding some buffer time to that, I failed to do that and dinner was hours later than expected.  With that in mind, I highly recommend the recipe.  It makes a wonderful addition to our shabbat table.

If you need some tips on how to braid these loaves check these instructions out, I found them very helpful and clear.

Leave a Reply

