Day 13: Something I’m Proud Of #30DaysHathNovember

#30DaysHathNovember


Take a look over at So Fawned for the list, and join in!

Something I’m Proud Of

I have a degree, and a diploma, and many certificates and a couple awards along the way, but none of these are things I am extra proud of.

I didn’t want to be a big lame-o and say I was proud of my part in the creation of my daughter, but then I thought about it and changed my mind.  I decided that this is a decidedly un-lame thing to be proud of.  In fact, it’s a pretty darn awesome thing to be proud of, especially considering the loses my husband and I endured along the way.

It was like training for a the biggest physical event of your life, like a marathon, but failing to complete it 5 times through circumstances beyond my control, one of those times getting past the middle of the race (when you figure you are safe…) and ending up in the hospital.  During the final pregnancy feeling the possibility of failure ever present but struggling on and fighting to keep my mental focus positive so I would have the endurance for that last leg of the journey when we finally got to meet our newly emerged daughter.

I may have the biology in place to do this, but that does not make it an easy task, or one that is guaranteed success.  I learned a lot about how precious and fragile life is during those couple years, and how absolutely mind-boggling it is that any of us are here at all.  I also learned that we really do need each other.  We help one another achieve greater success.

I will eventually get around to finishing and posting our birth story, but for now a couple pictures:

Rest

Rest

Feet

Feet

Leave a Reply

